Solution Finder Get Tech Support

E25/13/7 with material PC95

Posted by: JOHNBULLIE on

HI,
I state that I am not a power designer.
I simulated a Flyback with 230Vac input and two outputs: 28V 1A and 9V 0.5A with tiny_switch-4.
In the transformer specification, which is an E25 / 13/7 (EF25) core, it indicates as PC95 material gapped for ALG of 232 nH / T²
In all the research I have done with PC95 (TDK) and its alternatives N95 (EPCOS), 3C95 (FERROXCUBE) are never present with the format E25 / 13/7 (EF25).
Can someone help me understand why?
I enclose the simulation recommended by the software.
Thank you for the collaboration
JOHNBULLIE

Files

Attachment Size
TinySwitch-4_PIDesign3.uds 467.5 KB

Comments

Submitted by Thorin on 01/29/2018

Dear John,

Thank you for using Power Integrations.
First, I noticed that you are using a stand alone PIExpert Suite. If you have a good internet access, I would suggest that you access the online version as updates are coursed through them nowadays. Here is the link: https://piexpertonline.power.com/piexpert/design/index.
It may not present much of difference but in the online version, there is a choice between PIExpert and PIXls for Tiny 4. PIExpert takes care of optimizationsl.

As for your question, there are two different ALG. One which is published in the vendor specifications which is the ungapped ALG and one which you are referring to is a gapped ALG.
What is given to you is simply the suggested Lpri/ turns^2(gapped).
As you gap your core, the inductance/turns^2 of the core lowers and the B-H curve "flattens" or softens on that saturation portion of your magnetics. It is where you actually store the energy in the flyback.